The Languages Company

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
You are here  : HOME > Assessment


The KS2 framework

The framework sets out clear expectations about what is expected at the end of each year in KS2. These relate to the strands of oracy, literacy, intercultural understanding. For further information on this see KS2 framework, part 3, section 7 pp103-114

The Languages Ladder

The Languages Ladder is the Government's recognition scheme for language performance, which has been developed as one of the overarching objectives of the National Languages Strategy (NLS), launched in 2002. The ‘Steps' on the Ladder can help learners and their teachers record progress in their studies (through its ‘can do' statements) from the beginning. It can be used for all language learners in schools (primary and secondary), colleges and at work, and can support lifelong learning, since students can collect progressive accreditation of their progress (on a skill-by-skill basis) and carry it forward with them throughout their studies. Internal teacher assessment can receive external accreditation through the involvement of Asset Languages, and can complement existing external examinations and qualifications frameworks.

The Ladder has six stages, the first four each comprising 3 levels, from Breakthrough through to Mastery. The progression has been aligned with National Curriculum levels and with those on the Council of Europe's Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.

Asset Languages tests are now available in 25 languages across a range of stages. Exact availability is spelled out on the Asset Languages site.

The use of the early stages of the Ladder with primary pupils, envisaged within the NLS, is discussed on the Primary Languages website.

Making and marking progress

Another useful source of support is the document ‘Making and Marking Progress' which was devised by Asset languages and CILT on behalf of the former DCSF. A copy of this document was sent to all primary schools and is also available online. It provides some examples of typical teaching activities and describes how these can be assessed.

QCDA assessment materials

These materials are designed for use in KS3 but may be useful for reference at KS2 and for transition into KS3.

National exemplification materials for the Foundation Subjects including Modern Foreign Languages (French Levels 3-8, German Levels 4-7 and Spanish Levels 4-7) at Key Stage 3 were published on the National Curriculum website in July 2010.These materials provide teachers, as well as parents and pupils with annotated collections of evidence, gathered from individual pupils, which are judged to represent different levels of attainment in relation to national standards and in the context of the current secondary curriculum, introduced in 2008. Each exemplification of standards file includes: examples of students' classroom work assessed against national standards; other supporting evidence; a detailed commentary; and an overall assessment judgement on the students' work. They are a resource and reference point for teachers:

  • when assessing pupils' work in relation to national standards
  • when thinking about next steps for students
  • for training and professional development purposes

Building on the work of the last two years QCDA will be continuing work with schools in 2010/2011 to develop exemplification of national standards at Levels 1 and 2.